I wish it could be Christmas everyday

It’s nearly time. Christmas is so close I can almost smell the turkey.

I am one of those slightly annoying people who start wishing people ‘Merry Christmas’ on the 1st December and break into seasonal songs at the slightest provocation. I decorate my house near the beginning of the month so I can have weeks of joy from the shiny, sparkly things. I change my route home to make sure I drive past the house with flashing coloured lights around the windows and illuminated reindeer on the roof. I wear novelty earrings and Santa hats and I’m not going to apologise for it.

I’m not naïve, I know it can be a hard time for some people. If you can’t spend the day with the people you love or if you can’t buy them the presents you’d like. There are people in this country sleeping rough over Christmas, there are children going without food and there are wars going on. But because it’s Christmas and I want the world to love it too, I try to help out where I can. I set myself a the target of spending at least as much on charity donations as I do on wrapping paper. I make sure the cards I send out are charity cards and I try to be generous everytime I see a collection box. I know it won’t solve the world’s problems, but it has to be a start.

I love finding a little present to make someone smile or opening a card from someone I haven’t heard from in a while or having an excuse to go out and celebrate with friends, but they aren’t the best bits of Christmas. It’s unpacking the decorations and remembering the best bits of all your Christmases. It’s sharing smiles and trying to spread a little joy at this time of year. It’s taking a moment to enjoy this moment.

 Merry Christmas everyone.

 

Leave a Reply

